The southernmost course in the tournament’s rotation, Royal St. George’s in Sandwich, England will host the 2021 Open Championship beginning on Thursday, July 15. Possessing the deepest bunker in professional golf on its fourth hole, Royal St. George’s welcomes the Open Championship for the 15th time, with past winners at the site including Darren Clarke, Greg Norman, Walter Hagen, and Harry Vardon. Clarke’s 2011 win was emotional, as the Northern Irishman had toiled for 20 years and 54 majors before finally breaking through for the three-stroke victory over Dustin Johnson and Phil Mickelson.

Ten years after Clarke’s victory, Johnson returns as part of the 2021 Open Championship field as the world’s top-ranked player, while Mickelson is the 51-year-old winner of the 2021 PGA Championship. Jon Rahm, who won the…

Source link


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here