Ahead of the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy, the Cricket Association of Bengal (CAB) removed Abhimanyu Easwaran as the captain of the Bengal team and handed over the responsibility to seasoned Anustup Majumdar.

Shreevats Goswami has been named the vice-captain as Bengal plays all its matches in Kolkata, starting from January 10.

Under Easwaran’s captaincy, Bengal reached the final of the Ranji Trophy in March, but went down to Saurashtra in the summit clash. While the team enjoyed success, Easwaran’s batting performance dipped.

Bengal announces 22-member squad for Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy


The CAB president Avishek Dalmiya and secretary Snehasish Ganguly on Thursday spoke to Majumdar, Goswami and Easwaran and made them aware that the decision taken was only for the length of the tournament in question. “The selectors felt that without the burden of captaincy over his head…

Source link


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here