Cricket Australia’s new rules for the Big Bash League this season are “gimmicks” and “misguided attempts” to revitalise the T20 event, according to Shane Watson.

Cricket Australia has decided to introduce three new rules – Power Surge, X-Factor Player and the Bash Boost – in the 10th edition of the BBL which is set to begin on December 10.

“I read today that the BBL is introducing these new gimmicks, such as the Power Surge, the X-Factor Player and the Bash Boost in a misguided attempt to reinvigorate the tournament,” Watson wrote in a blog post on his T20 website,

“I just can’t seem to get my head around why there are people out there who are trying to reinvent the wheel when the wheel was not broken.”

ALSO READ | Shane Watson walks away after glorious CSK chapter

Power Surge allows the batting team to call for a two-over Powerplay at any point from the…

Source link


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here