The BCCI named Chetan Sharma as the chairman of the selection committee, while Abey Kuruvilla and Debasish Mohanty were the other members in the panel.

While 11 candidates were interviewed, the Madan Lal-led Cricket Advisory Committee – RP Singh and Sulakshana Naik were the other members of the panel – recommended Sharma, Kuruvilla and Mohanty for the role. Three positions were vacant after the exit of Jatin Paranjape (west zone), Sharandeep Singh (north) and Devang Gandhi (east).

Even though Sunil Joshi had taken charge as the chairman of the committee, the role will now be handed over to Sharma – who has featured in 23 Tests for India. As the BCCI constitution, the person with highest Test appearances will be handed the job. “I am really thankful to the BCCI for giving me this great honour. I will do my best to do justice to the role given to me,” Sharma told Sportstar.


Source link


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here