Chilean league leader Universidad Catolica converted a penalty on Wednesday – nearly one month after it was awarded.

Catolica was trailing 2-0 at Curico Unido on October 15 when the spot-kick was given but, while the incident was being reviewed by VAR officials, the scoreboard caught fire causing a power failure and the match was called off.

Four days later, the Chilean league (ANFP) confirmed that a penalty had been awarded and ruled that the game would be played on Wednesday, resuming at the point where it left off.

Croatia’s Vida plays first half of Turkey clash with COVID-19

In the mean time, Cesar Pinares, the player who was fouled to earn the penalty, joined Brazilian club Gremio.

There was further drama when the match restarted as Curico goalkeeper Fabian Cerda twice saved the penalty but retakes were ordered as he was judged to have moved, and Fernando Zampedri…

Source link


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here