Trupti Murgunde, Pradeep Gandhe and para-shuttler Satyaprakash Tiwari were among the three former badminton players to be conferred with the Dhyan Chand Award this year.

Trupti, the 2009 women’s singles national champion and two-time South Asian Games singles gold medallist, is over the moon. “This is a huge honour,” Trupti said.

Born in Pune, Trupti took the important step of moving to Bengaluru as a teenager to train at the Prakash Padukone Badminton Academy (PPBA). The Indian Oil Corporation employee has since made the city her home.

Trupti picked the National Championship and 2006 Commonwealth Games team event bronze as the highlights of her playing career. Incidentally, in the third round of the Nationals, Trupti edged out P. V. Sindhu, then an immensely talented 16-year-old sub-junior national champion.

‘New beginning’

After her playing career came to an end, she stayed…

Source link


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here