Indian men’s hockey team will open its campaign against New Zealand at the Tokyo Olympics on July 24 next year while women’s side will be up against mighty Netherlands in its first match on the same day.

Eight-time men’s champion India have been clubbed along side Australia, Argentina, Spain, New Zealand and hosts Japan in a tough Pool A, while Pool B consists of Belgium, Netherlands, Germany, Great Britain, Canada and South Africa.

The Tokyo Olympics was originally scheduled to be held in 2020 but has been postponed by a year because of the COVID-19 pandemic.

The Indian men’s team, which won its last of the eight Olympic golds in 1980 Moscow, will next face Australia on July 25, followed by matches against Spain (July 27), reigning Olympic champion Argentina (July 29) and Japan (July 30).

In the women’s competition, India is placed in Pool A along side Netherlands, Germany,…

Source link


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here