In what could be a big blow for the prospects of many Indian shuttlers’ qualifying for the Tokyo Olympics, no player from the country will feature in the Malaysian Open tournament, scheduled to be held from May 25-30, due to a temporary travel restriction imposed by the Malaysian Government on Indian travellers.

The tournament is one of the last events that contribute to Olympic qualification which ends on June 15.

All of India’s top shuttlers, the likes of PV Sindhu, Saina Nehwal, Kidambi Srikanth, Sai Praneeth, Satwiksairaj Rankireddy, Chirag Shetty, Ashwini Ponnappa and Sikki Reddy were due to participate in the tournament.

ALSO READ | Indian para shuttlers to miss Spanish international due to COVID restrictions

The Sports Ministry, through the Ministry of External Affairs, approached the Malaysian authorities requesting to permit the Indian team to participate, but owing to the…

Source link


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here