Pistol shooters Saurabh Chaudhary, Abhishek Verma and Manu Bhaker have been recommended by the National Rifle Association of India as its nominations for the Arjuna Award alongside Elavenil Valarivan in the rifle category this year.

Rajiv Bhatia, secretary, NRAI, confirmed, “The nominations will be sent to the Ministry of Youth Affairs and Sports (MYAS) shortly.”

Earlier, sources privy to matters of the federation had told Sportstar, “It is almost final that Saurabh and Abhishek will be nominated.”

Verma and Chaudhary, currently holding the third and fourth place, respectively, in the 10m air pistol world rankings, scripted history in 2018, having shot two medals at the Asian Games in Jakarta-Palembang. While Chaudhary claimed the top spot, Verma settled for bronze.

Ahead of the season-ending Rifle and Pistol World Cup Final in Putian last November, Verma (rating: 2149) and…

Source link


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here