Young Indian player Nihal Sarin emerged winner in the’s 2020 Junior Speed Online Chess Championship, beating Russia’s world junior No. 6 Alexey Sarana 18-7 in the final.

The title win earned the 16-year-old Sarin USD 8,766 and enabled him to qualify for the 2020 Speed Chess Championship Final which will feature the world’s best players.

Sarin had beaten American Andrew Tang, Australia’s Anton Smirnov and Armenian Haik Martirosyan en route the title.

Koneru Humpy ‘immensely satisfied’ after contributing to India’s Olympiad triumph


Past winners of the Speed Chess Championship include Magnus Carlsen (2017) and Hikaru Nakamura (2018, 2019).

The Indian teenager had lost in the first round of the 2019 Junior Speed Chess event.

According to a press release, five-time world champion Viswanathan Anand praised Sarin, saying, “Nihal is one of the world’s…

Source link


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here