Bengal Warriors etched its name in Pro Kabaddi League history as it lifted its maiden title on Saturday. Led by Iranian Mohammed Esmaeil Nabibakhsh, Warriors beat Dabang Delhi 39-34 to become PKL’s fifth champion in seven seasons.

The odds seemingly favoured the Warriors ahead of the final as it was the the only side that Dabang Delhi could not beat in the PKL 2019 league stage. The Warriors, coached by BC Ramesh, however suffered a setback as Maninder Singh was ruled out of the final owing to a shoulder injury.

But that did not dent the Warriors’ hopes as Nabibakhsh produced a stellar performance, and was aided by Sukesh Hegde and a watertight defence, as the side secured a stunning victory.

Here, we dissect how the Warriors got here and the side’s success mantra

New season, new fortune

In the first four seasons, Bengal Warriors was a different side altogether. In three of the first…

Source link


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here