The PGA Tour super season is 60% completed, yet no leader for Player of the Year has emerged. Thirty events — including three major championships — have been played, and somehow nobody has more victories than Stewart Cink (two). With just 20 tournaments — and three majors — remaining, the race is wide open for the taking.

This is somewhat unusual in recent years, although this year is anything but normal in the way it has been structured. In 2019, the race was clearly between just Brooks Koepka and Rory McIlroy (who went on to win). In 2018, Koepka had it locked up by the time the fourth major was played. Same for Justin Thomas, Dustin Johnson, Jordan Spieth and McIlroy in the years that preceded. Maybe that will also be true by the time the PGA Championship, this season’s fourth major, is completed next…

Source link


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here