A weekend of upsets has made it harder than ever to predict the winners of this season’s Serie A title, with little separating Italy’s top seven sides halfway through the season.

AC Milan was crowned “winter champions” on Saturday, the title given to the team on top after 19 rounds of the 38-game season, despite a 3-0 defeat by Atalanta.

But only nine points separate Milan on 43 from Lazio in seventh with 34, the smallest margin between the top seven at this stage for 10 years.

While Barca forwards flounder, Suarez keeps scoring for Atletico


The last time the first seven were this tightly bunched, in 2010-11, was also the last season in which Juventus failed to win the championship.

Milan was crowned champions that year, with Zlatan Ibrahimovic its top scorer in his first spell at the club.

The 39-year-old Swede has been instrumental in Milan’s revival since returning to San…

Source link


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here