Five players from champion Italy and three from runner-up England were named in the Euro 2020 team of the tournament announced by European football’s governing body UEFA on Tuesday.

Italy goalkeeper Gianluigi Donnarumma — who was named the Player of the tournament — along with defenders Leonardo Bonucci and Leonardo Spinazzola, midfielder Jorginho and winger Federico Chiesa were all selected in the line-up.

Italy won the Euros for the first time since 1968 as Donnarumma saved two England penalties en route to a 3-2 shootout win after the teams had fought out a 1-1 extra-time draw in Sunday’s final at Wembley.

England is a contender for every tournament now: McClaren

England right back Kyle Walker, centre back Harry Maguire and forward Raheem Sterling were also included in the team of the tournament, which was named by UEFA’s technical observer team.

Spain midfielder Pedri, who…

Source link


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here